New Manga Releases: November 18, 2014

Here are the new manga releases for November 18, 2014. If you see any errors or omissions in this list, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know.

Ani-Imo GN 1
Devils And Realist GN 3
Dragonar Academy GN 4
Durarara!! Yellow Scarves Arc GN 2
Gou-Dere Sora Nagihara GN 1
High School DxD GN 3
Higurashi: When They Cry: Dice Killing Arc GN 1
Kokoro Connect GN 2
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya GN 20
Monster Musume GN 5
My Little Monster GN 5
Noragami: Stray God GN 2
Ooku: The Inner Chambers GN 10
Pandora Hearts GN 22
Prophecy GN Part 01
Real GN 13
Soul Eater GN 23
Soul Eater Not! GN 4
Sword Art Online: Fairy Dance GN 2
Terra Formars GN 3
Triage X GN 8
Trigun Maximum Omnibus GN 5
Whispered Words GN 2

New Manga Releases: August 19, 2014

Here are the new manga releases for August 19, 2014. If you see any errors or omissions in this list, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know.

Attack on Titan: Before the Fall GN 2
Dorohedoro GN 13
Gangsta. GN 3
Haganai: I Don’t Have Many Friends GN 8
The Heroic Legend of Arslan GN 1
Ikigami: The Ultimate Limit GN 10
Monster Musume GN 4
Oh My Goddess! GN 46
Strike Witches: 1937 Fuso Sea Incident GN 1
Trigun Maximum Omnibus GN 4
Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle Omnibus GN 1

Manga Review: “Trigun Maximum” Omnibus Volume One

Article first published as Manga Review: Trigun Maximum Omnibus Volume One by Yasuhiro Nightow on Blogcritics.

Trigun Maximum Omnibus Volume One collects the first three volumes of the Trigun Maximum manga series by Yasuhiro Nightow. Dark Horse Manga has the North American distribution rights for the series, and this omnibus was released in 2012. There isn’t a rating published anywhere on this volume; however, after reading this omnibus, I would personally recommend Trigun Maximum to manga readers who are 14 or 15 years of age and older.

Trigun Maximum is set two years after Trigun. During those two years, Vash the Stampede has been living in hiding in a small town under a new name. At the beginning of the omnibus, his former traveling partner Nicholas D. Wolfwood arrives in the town in his search for Vash. After the two reunite and begin traveling together again, they also encounter Meryl and Milly, two employees of the Bernardelli Insurance Company who followed Vash around in the original Trigun series.

Before reading this omnibus, my only exposure to Trigun had been through watching the first episode of the anime series. Seeing this anime episode gave me some background for the series, so I wasn’t as lost and confused jumping into this second manga series as I could have been. As I read this omnibus, I thought that Nightow did a good job of providing information from the first series to help the reader remember or understand what’s going on, and did it in such a way that it didn’t feel like an “info dump.”

When it comes to the art, one of the things that really stood out to me was the panels that featured some heavy action sequences; unfortunately, they didn’t stand out to me in a good way. In the panels that feature the heavy action, Nightow relied very heavily on action lines and large sound effect characters. Some of the pages in this omnibus had several panels that looked like this, and it made those pages feel crowded. It also didn’t help that the emphasis on the action lines and the large sound effect characters on these pages made it hard for me as a reader to truly follow and understand what exactly was going on in those sections of the story.

Overall, Trigun Maximum wasn’t a bad read, and the story was kind of interesting. However, it would probably be better for a reader to read the volumes of the original Trigun manga series before jumping into Trigun Maximum in order to better appreciate the characters and the stories in this followup series.

I wrote this review after reading a pre-release digital copy of Trigun Maximum Omnibus Volume One that I acquired through the website.

Dark Horse Is Offering Some Digital Manga

Dark Horse Comics has started to offer some of the company’s manga titles in digital format through its free iOS app for the iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad.

These digital releases include:

  • Trigun Maximum (Volumes 1-3)
  • Hellsing (Volumes 1-3)
  • Lady Snowblood (Volume 1)
  • Crying Freeman (Volumes 1-2)
  • Lone Wolf and Cub (Volumes 1-10)
  • Old Boy (Volume 2)
  • Path of the Assassin (Volume 1)
  • Samurai Executioner (Volumes 1-5)

For these digital releases, Dark Horse is preserving the Japanese right-to-left format.